1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Please be sure you have read the advertisement rules! Violation of the rules in any advertising forums will result in a 2 week ban from the advertising forums. Continuous violations will result in being banned permanently from the advertising forums.
    Dismiss Notice

Where do I start?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Peninha, Jan 16, 2014.

1. Peninha

Peninha Guest

I am a total newbie in this Web master and Web hosting scene so I would appreciate any hints I could get. I have plenty of ideas to create a site, but I lack programming skills and other knowledge. For example, I'd love to make a forum where I could discuss tennis, my favorite sport. How could I do this, what steps should I take?

2. sidd230

sidd230 Guest

Well, you would need to buy a domain and get a web host for starters. Make sure your web host has PHP support.
    Then you can use a Forum program like vBulletin to get your forum running. You will need designers for logos and stuff. You can use the forum templates too.

3. SimplySidy

SimplySidy Guest

Well, as always there are two ways of doing things. One - You learn and d everything on your own - kind of DIY - time consuming and also hectic. The other way is to hire a professional who can help you setup the stuff that you need and also guide you through the other issues - kind of a Website Consultant. Agreed that the second way, you would still have to depend on others and maybe an expensive affair to start with, but at the end of the day, you would have enough time to learn to manage things - which I guess, as an entrepreneur, you would like to.

4. Peninha

Peninha Guest

Thanks for answers guys! Sorry my basic questions, but how do I buy a domain? Once I do that I have a web host?